Log in

No account? Create an account

Books: Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries

A fortuitous find at Murder One was The Winter Garden Mystery by Carola Dunn.

It's the second book in the Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries series. Currently the series numbers 15 books. These are cosy mysteries set in 1920's England. Daisy is an aristocrats daughter who has chosen to make a living by writing for Town and Country Magazine. She is pursued by a friend of her late brother but her love belongs to the Scotland Yard detective she met in the first instalment in the series.

In The Winter Garden Mystery, she is visiting a manor house in Cheshire so that she can write a feature about it and take photos. A body is discovered in the Winter Garden while she is taking photos there on her first day at the property.

If you like historical mysteries set here, this is highly recommended. Just watch so you don't start talking like Daisy and her friends. Telling somebody who's waiting for you "Good egg, I'll be down in half a mo." will raise eye brows.

If you want a taste, there are two short stories available from Belgrave House:
Storm in a Tea Shoppe
Unhappy Medium